The future needs a big kiss!

Freitag, 20. Februar 2009 Die Sicherheitsmaßnahmen von Management und Plattenfirma waren vergeblich: Das neue U2-Album steht bereits vor seiner offiziellen Veröffentlichung im Netz - kostenlos und illegal in Tauschbörsen. Schuld ist eine Panne im Online-Shop der Plattenfirma. [arrow more]

Montag, 18. August 2008 Seit einigen Tagen können vier Tracks der demnächst erscheinenden Produktion "No Line On The Horizon" in den Filesharing-Netzen heruntergeladen werden. Die Qualität ist zwar nicht sonderlich gut, für Fans, die sich vorab einen Eindruck verschaffen wollen, aber wohl ausreichend.

Die Schwachstelle ist ausgerechnet Bono, der Sänger der Band. Dieser hörte sich die noch unveröffentlichten Songs in seiner Villa in Südfrankreich mit hoher Lautstärke an. Ein Passant erkannte die Stimme Bonos, merkte, dass es sich um neue Titel handeln musste, und nahm sie über ein Mikrofon auf. [arrow more]

Sonntag, 18. November 2007 "It was 20 years ago today " the Beatles sang on 1967 sang on their legendary 'Sgt Peppers lonely Hearts Club Band' album, and if their ever was a successor to the fab four it is probably U2. Twenty years ago U2, not the Beatles, released a their own landmark album in the 'Joshua Tree'. Tracks on the album such as "I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For", "Where the Streets Have No Name", and "With or Without You" are radio staples on a wide variety of formats still today. So to commemorate U2 decided to release a 20th Anniversary edition that will hit stores on Tuesday.

One of the songs included is entitled 'Wave of Sorrow' in which Bono (seen in a video below) discusses the track that just finished recording after 20 years.

Here is what the lead singer of U2 said about the song:

"Was one of the songs from the Joshua Tree sessions that we never finished… a song that was trying to describe experiences that myself and Ali had when we were working in Ethiopia during the famine."

Here is a video of Bono explaining, and singing along to, 'Wave of Sorrow' :

Disc: 1
1. Where The Streets Have No Name
2. I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For
3. With Or Without You
4. Bullet The Blue Sky
5. Running To Stand Still
6. Red Hill Mining Town
7. In God's Country
8. Trip Through Your Wires
9. One Tree Hill
10. Exit
11. Mothers Of The Disappeared

Disc: 2
1. Luminous Times (Hold On To Love)
2. Walk To The Water
3. Spanish Eyes
4. Deep In The Heart
5. Silver And Gold
6. Sweetest Thing
7. Race Against Time
8. Where The Streets Have No Name (Single Edit)
9. Silver And Gold (Sun City)
10. Beautiful Ghost/Introduction To Songs Of Experience
11. Wave Of Sorrow (Birdland)
12. Desert Of Our Love
13. Rise Up
14. Drunk Chicken/America

Disc: 3 (Included in the Super Deluxe Edition)
1. I Will Follow [DVD]
2. Trip Through Your Wires [DVD]
3. I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For [DVD]
4. MLK [DVD]
5. The Unforgettable Fire [DVD]
6. Sunday Bloody Sunday [DVD]
7. Exit [DVD]
8. In God's Country [DVD]
9. Electric Co. [DVD]
10. Bad [DVD]
11. October [DVD]
12. New Year's Day [DVD]
13. Pride [DVD]

[arrow more]

Freitag, 24. August 2007 Daniel Lanois has helped the biggest of the big translate their music to the masses (Bob Dylan, U2, Willie Nelson), but now he's turning the spotlight on himself. After years of being asked by friends, fans and media outlets to reveal his studio methods, the Canadian producer/artist did exactly that with the self-financed film "Here Is What Is."

In the midst of finishing "Here Is What Is," Lanois has been writing songs for the next U2 album with Eno and the band in France and Morocco, a process documented in the film. Although the two producers have worked separately with U2 for years, this is the first time both men are collaborating with the band simultaneously.

"It feels like the 'Achtung Baby' period, when everybody was really hungry to do something fresh," Lanois says of the material so far. "They have everything, and they've done everything. But the thing they should never assume they still own is the ability to be original and invent something that's never been heard before. [arrow more]

Samstag, 11. August 2007 Bald kann jeder hautnah bei den Bandproben von "U2" dabei sein. Der Grund: Regisseur Daniel Lanois hat eine Dokumentation über die Entstehung des neuesten Albums der Erfolgsband gedreht. Wie die amerikanische Ausgabe des Musikmagazins "Rolling Stone" berichtet, geht es in dem Streifen vor allem um die Albumaufnahmen in Marokko. Dort haben sich Bono und seine Bandkollegen nämlich vor einiger Zeit zu heimlichen Studioaufnahmen getroffen.

Die Dokumentation rund um "U2" wird schon im September bei den Internationalen Filmfestspielen in Toronto dem Publikum vorgestellt. [arrow more]

Freitag, 3. August 2007 So what songs and artists does this legend listen to the most? For the Edge, it's a variety, ranging from songs by patriarchs of rock like Bob Dylan and the Beatles, to less mainstream acts like the Rebirth Brass Band. But each one is connected to some time or place in his life. [arrow more]

Mittwoch, 1. August 2007 Some bands have been larger than life since day one... I think U2 is the epitome of the statement. When they came onto the scene in the late 70s and early 80s their unique blend, a kind of post punk rock and roll with plenty of political statements in epic arena rock format, there was no doubt they had the vision for something huge, and indeed they became something huge.

After much artistic experimentation, having delved into electronica/dance and coming somewhat full circle back to the more driving rock and roll that made them famous originally, they're still huge, now 30+ years later. [arrow more]

RSS all posts
Subscribe with Bloglines

powered by Antville powered by Helma